Despite being one of the smallest states in the United States, Delaware has been among the most progressive when it comes to marijuana legalization. The state has passed comprehensive medical marijuana legislation, and with small possession of recreational marijuana having been recently decriminalized, Delaware could become one of the next states to fully legalize marijuana for adult use.
Recreational Marijuana in Delaware
Small possession of personal marijuana, up to 1 ounce, is considered a civil penalty and is susceptible to a maximum fine of $100.
The possession 1 ounce to less than 175 grams of marijuana is a misdemeanor, punishable by 3 months imprisonment and fine of $575. The possession or more than 175 grams is a felony, punishable to 3 to 25 years in prison.
Medical Marijuana in Delaware
The Delaware Medical Marijuana Act (Senate Bill 17), signed into law in 2011, legalized medical marijuana for patients with a written certification from a physician and an identification card. Patients can send a copy of their written certification to the Department of Health and Social Services to be issued an ID card, which will allow them to purchase medicinal cannabis from a compassion center and protect them from arrest.
Under the law, patients can possess up to 6 ounces of medical marijuana. They must register with only one compassion center, which cannot dispense more than 3 ounces of marijuana over a 14-day period.
Delaware’s medical marijuana program has approved the following conditions:
- Agitation of Alzheimer’s Disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Autism with Aggressive or Self-Injurious Behavior
- Decompensated Cirrhosis
- Intractable Epilepsy
- Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Terminal Illness
- A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatments that producers one or more of the following:
Originally, the law required that patients need to be 18 and older, but in 2015 Gov. Jack Markell signed a bill that legalized marijuana based-oils for minors under 18. Patients who are minors can only be recommended cannabidiol oil (CBD) containing at least 15 percent CBD and no more than 7 percent THC, and/or oils containing 15 percent THC acid and no more than 7 percent THC.
The following conditions have been approved for minors:
- Intractable Epilepsy
- A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition where they have failed treatment involving one or more of the following symptoms:
As of September 2016, qualified minors are legally allowed to use medicinal cannabis while on school grounds, thanks to the passing of Senate Bill 181, signed into law by Gov. Jack Markell.
Consumption of CBD from Hemp Oil in Delaware
Like all hemp-based products, CBD hemp oil is legal to import and sell as a dietary supplement in all 50 U.S. states, including Delaware.
Cultivation of Cannabis in Delaware
Personal cultivation of marijuana, even for medical purposes, is illegal in Delaware.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only; it does not constitute legal advice. Although we endeavor to keep the information up to date and correct, we make no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, about the completeness, accuracy, reliability, suitability or availability with respect to the website or the information, products, services, or related graphics contained on the website for any purpose. Therefore, any reliance you place on such information is strictly at your own risk.
This article may contain certain forward-looking statements and information, as defined within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933 and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, and is subject to the Safe Harbor created by those sections. This material contains statements about expected future events and/or financial results that are forward-looking in nature and subject to risks and uncertainties. Such forward-looking statements by definition involve risks, uncertainties.