Nevada Marijuana Laws

Nevada is one of the more progressive states when it comes to cannabis policies, allowing legal access to marijuana for both medical and recreational purposes.

Recreational Marijuana in Nevada

Over 54 percent of Nevada voters approved ballot initiative Question 2 to legalize recreational marijuana in November 2016. The law allows adults 21 and over to use and possess up to 1 ounce or less of marijuana for recreational purposes. Retail sales started July 1, 2017.

The law regulates marijuana like alcohol, removing all legal penalties for personal use and imposing a 15 percent excise tax, with revenue being spent on schools and enforcing the measure.

Adults are also permitted to grow up to six marijuana plants, provided cultivation takes place in an enclosed area with a lock.

Medical Marijuana in Nevada

Nevada was one of the earliest states to pass medical marijuana laws, with 65% of voters approving Ballot Question 9 in 2000. Since, the law has been amended twice (once in 2001 and once in 2013) to create further regulations for distribution of and access to marijuana.

Patients must have written documentation from a doctor in order to possess marijuana. The state also created a registry, which gives patients greater legal protection. Under the law, patients may possess up to 2 1/2 ounces of usable marijuana and cultivate up to 12 mature plants.

The following conditions are approved for medical marijuana use in the state:

The Division will also consider additional conditions, subject to approval.

As of December 2016, Nevada had 25,358 active medical marijuana cardholders. As of late January 2017, the state had 49 open and operating dispensaries.

CBD from Hemp Oil in Nevada

Hemp-derived CBD products are legal under Federal Law in the United States; however, individual state laws are dynamic and fluid. Individual states may enact their own laws governing hemp-derived CBD.

Cultivation of Cannabis in Nevada

Qualified medical marijuana patients are legally allowed to cultivate up to three mature plants and four immature plants.

Under Question 2, adults 21 and older are permitted to grow up to 12 plants for personal use.

In June 2015, Senate Bill 305 was signed into law, permitting the cultivation of industrial hemp on a limited basis and as part of a state-sponsored pilot program. The state’s very first industrial crop was harvested in October 2016.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only; it does not constitute legal advice. Although we endeavor to keep the information up to date and correct, we make no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, about the completeness, accuracy, reliability, suitability or availability with respect to the website or the information, products, services, or related graphics contained on the website for any purpose. Therefore, any reliance you place on such information is strictly at your own risk.